Losing Onself

Have you ever felt like you’re losing yourself, like the you that you know is becoming someone (something) else?  You can almost feel the change happening.  Only there is a hint of despair because you have experienced this transformation before, and the Great Fear arises, that you will ultimately live out the sequence to no end.

I am me but I am not
I wake up invigorated
But day dream an alternative
Who am I, I must ask
In solitaire I plot
But enlightenment is not
Entangled with hope and fear
I go on tumbling
Through the cycle of wonder
Only to experience life
As the same robot

– by David F. Curry, 2016

Leave a Reply

